California Workers Deserve Paid Sick Leave
Earlier this year, UFCW members demanded to have the paid sick leave they need if they get sick from COVID-19, need to take care of a sick family member, need to stay home with a child when their school is closed, or get vaccinated.
Because they fought hard and made their voices heard, Governor Gavin Newsom and the California Legislature listened and reinstated COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave through September 30, 2022. California now needs to extend this essential live-saving COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave to support California workers as our state faces yet another surge of illness. Without Supplemental Paid Sick Leave at least through the end of the year, many workers will once again have just three sick days per year (if they haven’t used it already) and may have to choose between working while sick or sending a sick child to school and losing pay or even their job.
California needs a more permanent policy in place, but the state must act now to save lives this winter.
UFCW and their coalition allies are asking for:
- An extension of the current Supplemental Paid Sick Leave law to the end of the year, December 31, 2022; and
- This will extend the current banks of leave workers have access to until the end of the year.
- Lawmakers to provide a more permanent solution on paid sick days to support workers’ health and safety beyond COVID-19 surges.
Who is eligible to take COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave?
SB 114 covers employers with 26 or more employees, providing up to 80 hours of COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave to be used for COVID-19 related circumstances. Employees can take COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave when they cannot work or telework due to the reasons listed below.
How many hours are provided?
SB 114 provides up to 80 hours of COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave.
40 hours of COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave for workers that need to :
- Care for yourself:
- quarantining or self-isolating due to COVID-19
- experiencing COVID-19 symptoms and are seeking a diagnosis
- when you are sick with COVID-19
- Caring for your family:
- when a family member is quarantining or self-isolating due to COVID-19
- when a child whose school or daycare is closed due to COVID-19
- when your family is sick with COVID-19
- you or your family member is attending a vaccine appointment
- you or your family member cannot work due to vaccine-related side effects
40 hours of COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave specifically for workers when*:
- you test positive with COVID-19
- A family member tests positive with COVID-19
*If your employer requests to see the test results, you must be able to provide documentation that you or your family member were positive for COVID-19.
When does this policy expire?
This policy expires on September 30, 2022.